Uris Library opened in 1891 as Cornell’s first library building. Designed by William Henry Miller, Cornell's first student of architecture, in the Richardsonian Romansque style. The library garnered national acclaim for its combination of beauty and utility. The University Library, as it was known, was refurbished in 1962 with funds from Harold '26 and Percy Uris and was renamed in recognition of their generous contribution.
Uris also contains the A.D. White Library, a library within a library designed by Cornell's first president, Andrew Dickson White, to hold his personal collection after he donated it to the university. It currently holds books on the history of the book and publishing. In an underground addition is a unique study lounge where the contemporary design of the 1980s meets the Romanesque style of the 1890s.
Uris Library also houses three computer labs, located on the gallery level. Two of the labs operate as shared facilities with Cornell Information Technologies (CIT). One serves as an electronic classroom for the many library instruction sessions held throughout the academic year. When it is not being used as a classroom, it is a public computing lab, similar to other CIT public labs on campus. The third computer lab is the Cornell Library Collaborative Learning Computer Lab (CL)3, which supports collaborative computing and instruction for multimedia development, programming and game design. The hours of service for all three computer labs are the same as for the library.